Sammy Luke

17 09 2007

How can anyone possibly describe the anticipation of becoming a parent? One friend said it well, “Are you simultaneously weirded out yet at the same time freaking excited?” My thoughts and emotions are completely scrambled. Fear. Uncertainty. Doubt. Yet at the same time Excitement. Courage. Humility. Love. I don’t know the first thing about being a father, other than I know that my own father’s example was a pretty darn good one (not perfect by any means, but good).

I guess my biggest fear is that I don’t know if I will be able to show this kid what it means to have life to the fullest. I want Sammy Luke to experience everything that is good in this world. I want him to experience peace, love, joy, patience, gentleness, etc.  And at the same time, I don’t want to deprive him of experiencing pain and loss and disappointment.

More than anything, I want to show him who Christ is and what that means for his life.

It was so neat to feel him kick for the first time. This was the first interaction that I’ve had with him.  I don’t really have words other than inadequate expressions of emotions.  The only way to describe it would be to get you to watch my wife and I interact at home as we experience our first interactions with our son.  It is pure joy that can only be expressed with a smile.

To say the least, he’s in there, and we’re ready to meet him.

Actions

Information

One response

18 09 2007
Adam

Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

